The History2018-10-31T10:34:32-04:00

An Historic Venue … Ready to Make New¬†Memories

Nestled among the cobblestone streets of historic Downtown Charleston lies The Room on Meeting.

This beautiful piece of history occupies the combined second floors of two structures built in the 1850’s. The space opens onto a garden patio that is attached to a house constructed in the late 1700’s, which offers additional seating to guests and an ideal location for oyster roasts or a casual cigar lounge. The buildings have housed a shoe store, a sisterhood, a bar known as “The Lion Head,” a liquor store and a gambling hall. They have withstood many economic and natural events including earthquakes and fires that destroyed much of their surrounding neighborhood.

In 1976, Serge Claire painstakingly restored the structures and helped lead the resurgence of Charleston’s fine dining scene. After his retirement and sale of the buildings in 1996, the new owners combined and carefully restored the second floors of the buildings into one of Charleston’s premiere banquet facilities now known as The Room on Meeting.

Located just a block from historic Market Street and multiple ceremony sites, The Room on Meeting is an ideal location for a formal reception in the heart of beautiful Downtown Charleston. The wide plank floors and authentic Charleston brick archways create the perfect venue to revive the spirit of the building past inhabitants while creating new memories in this historic space.